Marshland Acres

National & World Ag News Headlines
Senate Ag Leader Blanche Lincoln Loses Re-Election Bid
USAgNet - 11/03/2010

The results of the 2010 mid-term elections will change some of the key players who draft agriculture policy in Washington. Arkansas's Blanche Lincoln, who chairs the Senate Agriculture Committee, lost her seat on Tuesday to GOP challenger John Boozman. Debbie Stabenow of Michigan is now in line to become the next chairman of the panel, since the Democrats maintained their majority in the Senate.

With Republicans taking over the House, Minnesota Democrat Rep. Collin Peterson will lose his chairmanship of the House Agriculture Committee. It is expected that current ranking member Frank Lucas, a Republican from Oklahoma, will be given that position.

Though Peterson won re-election for his district, other House members on the agriculture panel were not as successful. Jim Marshall of Georgia, Steve Kagen of Wisconsin, Earl Pomeroy of North Dakota, Travis Childers of Mississippi, Deborah Halvorson of Illinois, Kathleen Dahlkemper of Pennsylvania, Bobby Bright of Alabama, John Boccieri of Ohio and Frank Kratovil of Maryland all lost their seats in Tuesday's vote count.

Meanwhile, a new farm bill will be among the agenda items for new members of the Senate and House ag caucuses. New committee members will be selected after the first of the year.

Send this article to a friend

Other National Headlines
Dairy Calf & Heifer Association
Forward Farm Lines
Copyright 2016 - All Rights Reserved.