Peak Forage Products

National & World Ag News Headlines
Branstad Becomes President of World Food Prize
USAgNet - 01/26/2023

The World Food Prize Foundation announced that former U.S. Ambassador to China Terry Branstad will join the organization as its President. Established by Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, the World Food Prize is considered the preeminent award for global agriculture and celebrates breakthrough achievements in combating hunger and enhancing food security around the world.

"We are excited to bring on a leader with both global vision and strong roots in agriculture," said Paul Schickler, chair of the World Food Prize Foundation. "Amb. Branstad, who was serving as Governor of Iowa when John Ruan, Sr., rescued the World Food Prize and moved it to Iowa, has been a champion of our mission from its earliest days. "He was an especially strong supporter of the World Food Prize Foundation's Iowa Youth Institute, which encourages high school students across the state to pursue STEM subjects. We greatly look forward to him coming on board," Schickler said.

Branstad was Iowa's longest-serving governor and holds the record as the longest-serving governor in the history of the United States. He held the office of Governor of Iowa from 1983 until 1999, and then again from 2011 until 2017, when he was appointed U.S. Ambassador to China. He is a partner with the Branstad Churchill Group, LLC.

The World Food Prize is presented each year in Iowa to an individual for their achievements in improving the quality, quantity, and availability of food in the world. The $250,000 award is presented each October in a ceremony at the Iowa State Capitol that attracts global leaders and participants. In conjunction with the laureate award presentation, the Norman E. Borlaug International Dialogue and related events draw global leaders and key stakeholders for discussions on groundbreaking advances in food and agricultural innovations.

Other National Headlines
Roth Manufacturing
Grand View Safety Grooving
Copyright © 2023 - All Rights Reserved.