ProVision Partners

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
USDA Declares Seven Wisconsin Counties as Disaster Areas
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 10/04/2017

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has designated seven eastern Wisconsin counties as disaster areas due to crop losses from heavy rains in late June and early July.

USDA officials confirm that Calumet County was hit the hardest, as that area lost more than 30 percent of its strawberry crop as a result of excessive rain and flooding that kept fields underwater and soils over-saturated for an extended time.

"The June and July storms impacted Wisconsin farmers," said Governor Scott Walker, who requested the designation. "With the USDA's disaster designation, those affected by flood damages are eligible to receive much-needed assistance."

The other surrounding counties in the designation include Brown, Fond du Lac, Manitowoc, Outagamie, Sheboygan and Winnebago.

Farmers in all seven counties will be eligible for assistance including emergency loans, depending on their production losses. That process starts by contacting the USDA Farm Service Agency office.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Farm First Dairy Coop
Zabel Equipment
Copyright 2018 - All Rights Reserved.