McMillan Warner Insurance

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
National Dairy Shrine Holds Awards Banquet at WDE
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 10/12/2012

The National Dairy Shrine has recognized this year's special award honorees and student scholarship winners during a baquet at last week's World Dairy Expo in Madison.

From Wisconsin, George Opperman of Beloit and James Baird from Fort Atkinson were named National Dairy Shrine Pioneers. Opperman started out as a successful Iowa Brown Swiss breeder, but also served as the Executive Secretary of the Brown Swiss Association for eight years. Later he pioneered the development of United States Livestock Genetics Export Inc. program which aids all dairymen in increasing dairy cattle exports around the world. Baird was the long time art director for Hoard's Dairyman. He created the Foster Mothers of the Human race artwork and his December Hoard's cover artwork was a special feature for every subscriber. Jim also was the designer of the first displays at the National Dairy Shrine Museum and a tireless museum volunteer.

Several local students were chosen to receive scholarship money. Danielle Brown of Dodgeville earned a $1,500 NDS Student Recognition Award. She is a recent graduate in Dairy Science and Communications at University of Wisconsin-Madison and is working at Select Sires in Ohio. Another $1,000 cash award was presented to Carissa Levash of Brillion, who is majoring in Dairy Science with a Business Option at UW-Madison. The NDS student recognition program recognizes graduating seniors planning a career related to the dairy industry who have demonstrated outstanding leadership skills, academic ability, and a sincere interest in dairy cattle.

A $1,000 McCullough Scholarship was given to Emily Selner of Denmark. That award is presented to students entering their freshmen year of college and plan to major in dairy/animal science or agricultural journalism with a dairy emphasis.

The Iager Scholarship for $1,000 is awarded annually to students in a two year agricultural school pursuing a career in the dairy industry. Wisconsin's recipient of that award was Ben Julka of Rosendale, who is attending Fox Valley Technical College and majoring in Farm Operations.

And Abbey Wethal from Brooklyn received a Robert McKown Scholarship of $1,500.

Meanwhile, Wisconsin continues to have three board members on the NDS leadership panel. They include Roger Neitzel, Beloit; Keith Engel, Madison; and Dr. Bob Rowe, Verona. Dr. David Selner, Denmark, serves as the executive director of the NDS.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Kelly Manufacturing
Copyright 2018 - All Rights Reserved.