Cropping Central LLC

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Holte Re-Elected Wisconsin Farm Bureau President
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 12/05/2017

Elk Mound beef producer Jim Holte has been re-elected president of the state's largest farm organization. On Monday, directors at the 98th Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation's annual meeting in Wisconsin Dells voted to give Holte a sixth term in office.

A WFBF board member since 1995, Holte raises beef cattle and grows corn, soybeans and alfalfa on 460 acres of land in Dunn County. Throughout his years on the board, he has served as the Farm Bureau's representative to the Wisconsin Livestock Identification Consortium board. He also chaired the Wisconsin Livestock Siting Review board; is a past president of the Wisconsin Beef Council and is a former member of the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture board. He was elected to the American Farm Bureau Federation's board of directors in 2014.

Also this week, Don Radtke of Merrill was re-elected vice president. And Arch Morton Jr. from Janesville was chosen to serve a three-year term on the board, while Joe Bragger, Independence; and Rosie Lisowe, Chilton, were re-elected by the convention's delegates.

Andrea Brossard of Burnett was elected as the chair of the Promotion and Education Committee. And Brian Preder from Weyauwega will serve a year-long term as chair of the Young Farmer and Agriculturist Committee.

Meanwhile, the WFBF presented its Distinguished Service to Farm Bureau Award to former WFBF President Bill Bruins for his contributions to Wisconsin's agricultural industry. A native of Waupun, Bruins is the general manager of his family's 600-cow dairy farm, Homeland Dairy. He was a board member of the coordinating committee for the Wisconsin Agricultural Stewardship Initiative, and was appointed in 2005 to the Governor's Bio-based Industry Consortium. He served as a member of the Farm Bureau Life Board of Directors and on the Farm Bureau Life audit and budget committee. Bill previously served on the University of Wisconsin-Madison's College of Ag and Life Sciences Board of Visitors and in 2011, was appointed by Governor Walker to the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Board.

And Steve Kling from Jackson County was given the Distinguished Service to Wisconsin Agriculture Award. He has been an active member of Farm Bureau for 39 years and served in key leadership roles at county and state levels. Kling has served on the WFBF Dairy Committee and Policy Development Committee, and has been a Farm Bureau Proud Club (formally Producer Club) member numerous times and has signed more than 35 new Farm Bureau members. Steve and his wife, Pat, were the 2016 Jackson County Farm Family of the year and were previously named the Farm Family of the La Crosse Farm Show. In 2005, they received the Jackson County Land Conservation Department Watershed Farmer Award and were finalists for the 2012 Leopold Conservation Award.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
International Protein Sires
E-Z Trail Farm Wagons
Copyright 2018 - All Rights Reserved.