Ag Risk Managers Insurance Agency

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Wallendal Elected WPVGA Board President
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 02/10/2015

The Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association's board of directors will have a new president for the coming year. Andy Wallendal of Wallendal Supply in Grand Marsh was elected by his fellow directors during the group's annual meeting in Stevens Point last week. He replaces outgoing board leader Larry Alsum from Friesland.

Mark Finnessy of Okray Family Farms, Plover, is the new vice president. Eric Schroeder, Schroeder Bros. Farms, Antigo, was elected secretary. And Josh Mattek, J.W. Mattek & Sons, Inc., Deerbrook, is the new treasurer.

Also at the meeting, the WPVGA Associate Division board chose Chris Brooks of Central Door Solutions, Plover, to be its president for 2015. Brooks replaces Eugene Mancl of Ron's Refrigeration, Wisconsin Rapids. The rest of the officers include Wayne Solinsky of Jay-Mar, Inc., Plover, vice president; Steve Bohm, Wisconsin Public Service, Green Bay, secretary; and Zach Mykisen, Big Iron Equipment, Plover, treasurer.

Meanwhile, Robert Helbach of Helbach Farms, Amherst, was inducted into the Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association Hall of Fame. Kathy Bartsch of Bartsch Farms, Coloma, was named the Volunteer of the Year. This year's Young Grower of the Year Award was presented to Eric Schroeder of Schroeder Bros. Farms, Inc., Antigo. And the WPVGA Researcher of the Year Award went to Dr. Paul Mitchell, Associate Professor in the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
National Farm Medicine Center
Copyright 2015 - All Rights Reserved.