Cropping Central LLC

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
USDA Designates 14 Wisconsin Counties as Natural Disaster Areas
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 02/13/2020

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has designated 14 Wisconsin counties as primary natural disaster areas for excessive snow and rain that fell between January through August of last year.

As part of the designation, producers in Brown, Calumet, Door, Kenosha, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Milwaukee, Oconto, Outagamie, Price, Racine, Sheboygan, Walworth, and Winnebago counties who suffered losses between January 1 and August 15, 2019, may be eligible for USDA Farm Service Agency emergency loans.

This move allows FSA to extend emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Meanwhile, producers in contiguous counties are also eligible to apply for emergency loans. They include Ashland, Fond Du Lac, Forest, Green Lake, Iron, Jefferson, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Menominee, Oneida, Ozaukee, Rock, Rusk, Sawyer, Shawano, Taylor, Vilas, Washington, Waukesha, Waupaca, and Waushara.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is October 5, 2020.

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Easy Way Cattle Care
Copyright © 2020 - All Rights Reserved.