Marshland Acres

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Farm Bill Safety-Net Deadlines Approaching
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 02/26/2015

The USDA's Farm Service Agency is reminding producers of upcoming important deadlines for the new safety-net programs established by the 2014 farm bill. State FSA Director Brad Pfaff says yield history or reallocate base acres reports for the Agriculture Risk Coverage and Price Loss Coverage programs are due by February 27. And the final day for farm owners and producers to choose coverage is March 31.

"These programs provide financial protection against unexpected changes in the marketplace, so now is the time to have those final conversations, to ask any remaining questions, and to visit the Farm Service Agency to make these decisions," said Pfaff. “For the first time in many years, farmers have the opportunity to update yields or reallocate base, but if no changes are made by February 27, the farm's current yield and base will be used."

Pfaff adds that if no program election occurs by March 31, then there will be no 2014 payments for the farm and the farm will default to PLC coverage through the 2018 crop year.

Nationwide, more than 3,500 training sessions have been conducted on the new safety-net programs, including approximately 200 in Wisconsin.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Grouser Products
Gehling Auction
Copyright © 2015 - All Rights Reserved.