Murray's Dairy & Ref.

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
St. Croix County Designated Primary Natural Disaster Area
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 03/10/2014

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated St. Croix County as a primary natural disaster area due to extremely hot weather and severe drought conditions that occurred in 2013. Farmers in contiguous counties also qualify for natural disaster assistance. They include Barron, Dunn, Pierce and Polk.

The USDA says farmers in Washington County in Minnesota qualifies for natural disaster assistance, as well. Producers in each of the designated areas may be eligible for low interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency, provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Meanwhile, the FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity. Additional programs available to assist farmers include the Emergency Conservation Program, Federal Crop Insurance, and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
KNT Fabrication
Copyright 2018 - All Rights Reserved.