East Central Select Sires

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Rusk & Sawyer Counties Designated as Natural Disaster Areas
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 01/02/2018

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated Rusk and Sawyer Counties as primary natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by excessive rainfall and flooding that occurred from April through October of last year. Farmers in those areas, as well as eight other contiguous counties, may qualify for natural disaster assistance.

USDA officials say the designation became effective as of December 21, 2017, making all qualified farm operators in those areas eligible for emergency loans through the Farm Service Agency, provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

The other contiguous counties in the designation include Ashland, Chippewa, Taylor, Barron, Douglas, Washburn, Bayfield and Price.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Machinery Pete
Riverside Plastic Inc./RSI Calf Hutches
Copyright 2018 - USAgNet.com. All Rights Reserved.