Marshland Acres

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Hammer & Schadrie Honored with UW-RF Chancellor's Award
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 05/10/2012

Seven students at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls have received the 2012 Chancellor's Award for Excellence, including two seniors who are majoring in agricultural areas. During a recent ceremony, Danielle Hammer from Beaver Dam and Kim Schadrie of DePere were recognized with the highest non-academic honor a student can receive at the school.

Hammer has served as the president of the Chancellor's Student Ambassadors for the past two years. She also shared her talents for agricultural business and marketing with numerous organizations associated with the agriculture industry both on and off campus including the UW-RF Agriculture Business and Marketing Society, Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation, Wisconsin Farm Technology Days, Wisconsin Soybean Marketing Board and Wisconsin Corn Growers Association. Her major was agricultural business.

"Danielle's engagement in campus life has been outstanding and the results of her efforts will leave this a better place in terms of students' opportunities," said David Trechter, UWRF professor and department chair of agricultural economics. "I firmly believe that she will be an agricultural leader in Wisconsin in the years to come."

Schadrie, who majored in agricultural education, has twice served as a resident assistant, as a campus tour guide, and as a group leader to the AGED 202-Leadership & Group Dynamics Course for the past two years. She has held terms as an officer of Alpha Tau Alpha, Sigma Alpha sorority, and the Agricultural Education Society. Off campus she has participated in an alternative spring break service trip with Heifer International and served as a state officer with Wisconsin FFA.

"Kim is a super individual who really cares about the job she does and has a true passion for the projects, activities and people she works with," said State FFA Director Cheryl Zimmerman.

Other students receiving the Chancellor's Award were Grace Adofoli, St. Paul, Minn.; Becky Jones, New Hope, Minn.; Camryn Nelson, Red Wing, Minn.; Adam Sibenaller, Owatonna, Minn.; and Lee Underdahl, Forest Lake, Minn.

First awarded in 1980, the award is presented annually to a small group of juniors and seniors who have given distinguished leadership and service to the campus and external communities during the course of their time on campus.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Machinery Pete
Terning Seeds
Copyright 2018 - All Rights Reserved.