Adushun Jones Real Estate

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Wisconsin Holstein Association Awards Scholarships to Members
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 06/04/2014

Eighteen youth members of the Wisconsin Holstein Association are receiving scholarships from the group this year. Program coordinators say $16,000 in scholarships were awarded to members studying in agriculture or related fields at a two-year or four-year university.

Top scholarships applicants include the following students:

** Karsen Haag, Mount Horeb, $1,000 Gordon Berg Memorial Scholarship. She is in her first year of study at Southwest Technical College in Fennimore, studying dairy herd management and agribusiness, with plans to eventually own her own Registered Holstein operation.

** Crystal Siemers-Peterman, Cleveland, $1,000 Doris Morris Memorial Scholarship. Crystal is a freshman at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities majoring in agriculture and food business management with plans to return home and market dairy products from her family's farm.

** Cassi Miller, Mount Horeb, will receive the $1,000 Bradley Fust Memorial Scholarship. She is a sophomore at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville majoring in agribusiness with an emphasis in communications and marketing, with plans to work in the dairy industry in a career that educates youth and promotes the importance of the dairy industry.

** Jordan Siemers, Newton, will receive the $1,000 John Klossner Memorial Scholarship. Siemers is a senior at Howards Grove High School with plans to attend Cornell University in the fall. Jordan will study dairy science, agribusiness and dairy cattle genetics, with plans to return as the 6th generation on his family's farming operation.

** Elizabeth Sarbacker, Verona, will receive the $1,000 John Selz Memorial Scholarship. Elizabeth is a senior at Verona Area High School. She will attend the University of Wisconsin-Madison in the fall to study dairy science, with plans to stay involved in the dairy industry and agriculture.

Meanwhile, 13 additional Wisconsin Holstein Junior members will receive four-year or two-year scholarships. Recipients include Nicole Wright, Watertown; Carrie Warmka, Fox Lake; Kristen Broege, Janesville; Abigail Martin, Janesville; Logan Voigts, Platteville; Laura Finley, Madison; Lizi Endres, Waunakee; Cassie Endres, Waunakee; Valerie Kramer, St. Cloud; Kati Kindschu, Brownsville; Sara Griswold, Black Earth; Katherine Larson, Viroqua; and Ethan Dado, Amery.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Byron Seeds
Sheah Auguers/SD Ellenbecker
Copyright 2018 - All Rights Reserved.