ProVision Partners

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
FFA Officer Team Announced, Star Awards Bestowed
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 06/16/2016

The 'Stars Over Wisconsin' shined brightly on Wednesday night in Madison as four FFA members where recognized with the highest awards a student can win at the state-level during the 87th Wisconsin FFA Convention. The Star Farmer award went to Caleb Hamm of the Waupaca FFA; Wisconsin's Star in Agricultural Placement award winner was Trent Dado from the Amery chapter; Michael Geissinger, Stratford, was the Star in Agribusiness recipient; and the State FFA Star in Agriscience award went to Faith Carpenter, Big Foot FFA.

Another 334 members walked across the stage to receive their State FFA Degrees. Many other students were recognized as scholarship winners. And Meikah Dado, Amery, took first in the Job Interview contest.

Meanwhile, chapter honors went to the Manawa FFA, which was named the winner of the Food For America award. Spencer FFA won the Sr. High Quiz Bowl contest. And Fennemore FFA took first place in the Senior High Opening/Closing Ceremonies competition.

This year's FFA Hall of Fame Inductees included Clara Hedrich, Pat Zimmer and the late-Robert Heebink. Teyanna Loether, William Nelson, Tim Wyss, Jeff Zobeck, Dr. Mark Zidon and WAXX Radio earned Distinguished Service Awards. And 14 other adult supporters were granted honorary membership.

But the award winners weren't the only ones jumping for joy. Convention delegates elected 10 new state officers Wednesday, who will start their year of service on Thursday. They include Rylee Black, Amery; Caleb Green, Stanley-Boyd; Laura Munger, Holmen; Kari Fischer, Argyle; Ciera Ballmer, Clinton; Hannah Taylor, Poynette; Ashley Zimmerman, Spencer; Danielle Angotti, Freedom; Sara Van Asten, Wrightstown; and Travis Cadman, East Troy.

State FFA President Sally Albers and her officer team will hang up their FFA jackets one last time on Thursday morning before installing the 2016-17 officers--with the exception of one member from this year's group who will be named the new state president.

The 87th Wisconsin FFA Convention wraps-up on Thursday with the naming of the state's top chapter.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Roth Manufacturing
U.S. Custom Harvesters, Inc.
Copyright 2016 - All Rights Reserved.