Chippewa Farm Service

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Luxemburg Couple Wins 60th State OYF Award
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 01/21/2013

A Kewaunee County farm couple has been named the winners of the Wisconsin Outstanding Young Farmer award. David & Stacy Jauquet of Luxemburg earned the title in Keshena on Saturday night after competing against 11 other finalists. They operate a 600-cow dairy operation, which they run with Dave's brother Jeff.

The farm is known in the area for being a show place, where they host local school children for tours and were the 2012 home of the county's dairy breakfast. Their rolling herd average is over 29,000 with a low somatic cell count of around 100,000.

"Going through this was such a positive experience," Brian told Wisconsin Ag Connection. "Any of the other couples could have easily won this award; they were was such a great group of producers in the running for this program. It's reassuring to know that all of these producers will be around for a long time."

Dave manages feeding, feed purchasing, marketing and finances of the business, while Stacy is in charge of calf-raising. Jeff handles the genetic selection and registration.

The Jauquets are active members of the Professional Dairy Producers of Wisconsin, Wisconsin Farm Bureau, state and national Holstein Association and the Kewaunee County Dairy Promotion group, of which Stacy is currently serving as an ambassador.

Also during the event, Brian & Nicole Barlass from Janesville were named first runners-up for the OYF competition. Second runners-up were Matt & Tabitha Hartwig of Athens. Kurt & Diana Strassburg, Bowler, placed third in this year's event, with John & Deb Ihm, Lancaster, in fourth.

Other finalists were Matt and Tracy Brandel, Lake Mills; Hickory & Erin Daniels, Juda-Brodhead; Marty & Lisa Pertzborn, Reedsburg; Corey & Brook Stenjem, Cambridge; Nicholas & Danae Stieglitz; Mark & Rachel Turgasen, Richland Center; and Erich & Mia Wollin, Johnson Creek.

The Strassburgs and Brandels were also honored with this year's 'Speak up for Agriculture' award.

Meanwhile, last year's state winners, Adam & Becky Kuczer, Pulaski, and the 2012 State Runners-up Brian & Stephanie Perkins, Richland Center, will represent Wisconsin at the national OYF Congress in New Mexico.

The Wisconsin OYF program was developed in 1954 to recognize the younger generation of successful agriculturists in the state. Winners are selected based on progress in their agricultural career, soil and water conservation and contributions to community, state and nation.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Byron Seeds
Riverside Plastic Inc./RSI Calf Hutches
Copyright 2018 - All Rights Reserved.