Weiss Realty LLC

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Sen. Marklein Named DBA's Legislator of Year
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 01/29/2021

The immediate-past chairman of the Wisconsin Senate Agriculture Committee has been honored by the Dairy Business Association as its Legislator of the Year. Sen. Howard Marklein was presented with the award on Thursday for his efforts in helping fund the Dairy Innovation Hub, sponsoring truth-in-labeling legislation for dairy products and meat; and allocating capital access for rural businesses.

"Senator Marklein has gone above and beyond to strengthen and promote Wisconsin's dairy community," said DBA President Amy Penterman. "He recognized the importance of these issues and showed leadership in moving them forward."

Meanwhile, the group also announced its Legislative Excellence Award recipients for the 2019-20 session. Those lawmakers are being recognized for ongoing support for farmers, processors and the broader dairy community.

Recipients include Reps. Joel Kitchens, Ron Tusler, Gary Tauchen, Amy Loudenbeck, Jeffrey Mursau, Barb Dittrich, Joan Ballweg, Jon Plumer, Don Vruwink, Mark Spreitzer, Travis Tranel, Tony Kurtz, Todd Novak, Jeremy Thiesfeldt, Timothy Ramthun, Rob Summerfield, Nancy VanderMeer, Scott Krug, Dave Considine, Ken Skowronski, John Spiros, James Edming, Treig Pronschinske, Warren Petryk, Steve Doyle, Loren Oldenburg. Senators receiving the award are Janis Ringhand, Daniel Feyen, Kathy Bernier, and Patrick Testin.

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Sheah Auguers/SD Ellenbecker
Copyright © 2022 - Farms.com. All Rights Reserved.